Blocked More IP Addresses

Sorry to be a complete boring swot but I’ve blocked some more IP addresses. These IP addresses, some of which are owned by ChinaNet, have been hammering this site and frankly I just wasn’t going to take it any more.

I previously barred access to the site for small parts of the 124.115 block, thinking I had fixed the spam problem. However it turns out that the site is still receiving a large number of requests from IPs in this range, usually reporting an agent like Internet Explorer 6, and always declaring the referrer as http://nitrocandy.com and then, almost immediately afterwards,  http://www.nitrocandy.com.

I’m starting to think the whole block is rotten.

I spent some time looking around for who might be behind the 124.115 block, and it seems that at least part of the IP block is owned by a comment harvester. Another part of the block seems to be owned by a mail spammer.

Despite the large number of requests, part of the block may be legitimate. This blog post says that part of the IP block is reported by Sosospider. A disobedient spider, to be sure, but ostensibly above board.

For the moment, I’m barring the whole block.

Related posts...

One Response to “Blocked More IP Addresses”

  1. Baidu and Sosospider have been hammering my site (http://www.listburn.com). I tried the robots approach but saw it wasn’t being honored so now I will try the htaccess approach! Will this actually ban their access or will it just deliver a 403 error? I don’t even want them showing up in my logs!

Leave a Reply